Starting Your Notary
This 6-hour class is designed to help you prepare and pass the State notary examination. This state approved class meets the statutory requirements for new notary applicants. In addition, you will learn tips on how to be successful as a professional notary. You will receive a Certificate of Completion allowing you to take the State proctored examination.
Note: If you simply need to renew your notary, please click here for the Renewing Your Notary Class.If you have taken the state-required notary course within the past 2 years and would like only to take the exam, please click here .
Here is what some of our previous students are saying about the class:
“Excellent-I knew nothing but (the instructor) broke it all down into manageable pieces!!”
“Very complete class session w/instructor. Very informative"
“(The instructor) was great, friendly and knowledgeable. I really enjoyed the course”
This is a not-for-credit course.
As such, you will not earn units and the class will not be reflected on your banner schedule or on transcripts. As a not-for-credit course, Financial Aid cannot be used to pay for or offset the costs of this course.
Cost for Class: $99 (Tuition + Study Guide. To be paid at time of registration)
Cost for Exam: $40 (To be paid the day of the exam. See more information below.)
Cost for LiveScan/Photo: $90 (To be paid the day of the exam. See more information below)
--See below for Registration & Payment Details--
Instructor : Kimberly A. Sharon , California Notary Academy (Live Class Certification #600003)
Kim has more than 20 years of management and tutorial experience spanning both corporate and start-up environments. Ms. Sharon is the principal of Notary On-The Go, specializing in notary services in the state of California and tutorial services for independent Notaries, a business she founded 10 years ago.
Attention - Class Date Change:
8 AM - 4:00 PM (Class);
4 PM - 5:50 PM (Exam) - Optional
College of the Sequoias - Tulare Campus, Building B, Room 224
4999 East Bardsley Avenue, Tulare, CA. 93274
Registration for Class:
Online registration is NOT supported on mobile devices such as IPhones IPads, etc. You must use a PC or Mac computer or laptop.
If you are paying with cash or a credit card, you cannot register online. Otherwise, please click the following link to register:
Click here to register for this class.
Click here for step-by-step instructions on the registration process.
8:00 - 8:30 a.m. Sign In (arrive early to ensure a good seat!)
8:30 a.m. Sharp! In order to comply with state law, no one will be admitted late even if you have registered
12:00 - 12:45 p.m. Lunch Break
1:00 p.m. Class resumes (be on time)
4:00 p.m. Class ends
4:00 - 5:50 p.m. State proctored Notary Exam
No refunds will be given if you arrive late!
What you will learn:
Duties and responsibilities of a Notary
How to notarize a document
Necessary bonding and E & O insurance
Types of documents you can and cannot notarize
Oaths and affirmations administered by a Notary Public
Test taking strategies
How you will benefit:
Increase your probability of passing the examination
Become a California Notary Public or renew your Notary Commission
Execute the duties of a Notary in compliance with the law
If the student is going to take the state exam immediately following the class (strongly recommended) they must also bring:
A check or money order made out to the "Secretary of State" in the amount of $40.00(cash and credit cards are NOT accepted by the state proctors)
Two sharpened "number 2" pencils (for the Scan Tron answer sheet)
Passport photo and Livescan fingerprinting are required attachments to your exam application. Passport photos and Livescan fingerprinting will be offered the day of class (by the instructor). The costs are: $10/photo and $80/Livescan. If you are purchasing these items from the instructor, you will pay the day of class (the instructor is able to accept check, money order or credit card. Checks for Livescan and Photo should be made out to California Notary Academy).
Call the Community Education office at 559-688-3130 , or visit us at the Training Resource Center located at the COS Tulare Campus - 4999 E. Bardsley Ave., Tulare 93274.
For more information regarding state notary requirements, please visit:
Deadline for Registration:
October 24 class deadline: October 14, 2015 - 5:00 PM
This is the deadline for registering into the class. However, if we do not have enough enrollments 12 days before the class, we will cancel the class due to low enrollments. In order to register early enough to let us know we have enough enrollments, please register by the deadline.
In order to obtain the proctor for the Exam, there must be a minimum of 15 paid and confirmed registrants. If the class is cancelled due to low enrollment, you will receive a full refund. No refunds will be given for student cancellations.
Cancellation and Refund Policy:
for the Training Resource Center cancellation and refund policy.